Speech of Fact

Developing Messages

The ability to develop messages showcases my ability to adapt messages to different purposes and contexts. This speech shows I was able to adapt my message to convince an audience of students that the lack of volunteers at a certain organization was a problem.

Speech of Fact     

One of the first classes I took as an Applied Communication major at UALR was Advanced Public Speaking. The assignments of the class centered around volunteer work we did at an organization of our choice. Our first major assignment was to deliver a speech that highlighted problems and needs we observed related to the volunteer work we were doing. I had to speak for five minutes about the lack of volunteers at my organization, persuading the audience that the lack of volunteers was indeed a problem.

     To craft this speech, I went through a series of steps. I decided what my main points would be in the speech, “the lack of volunteers puts stress on the children who come the [organization]” and “the lack of volunteers puts stress on the staff.” My next step was to provide evidence that supported those claims. I gave examples of what kinds of stress the children and staff experienced and used academic journal articles to explain why those stresses were negative.

     After delivering my speech, I received peer feedback saying I had persuaded all of my listeners that the lack of volunteers was a problem and was negatively affecting those in the organization. I learned how to craft an informative and persuasive message and developed an appreciation for the process of finding the most effective and important information to share in a short amount of time. 

    My Speech of Fact

 

Leave a Reply

