ESL Needs

Analyzing Messages

This example highlights my ability to actively listen, think critically, and respond mindfully to messages.

Image result for grocery store vocabulary esl
Example Vocabulary Sheet

Teaching ESL

During my sophomore year of college, I taught English to Spanish-speakers once a week. I did this in a Hispanic community through a ministry my church had. Most people who came to the classes were mothers whose children went to English-speaking schools and wanted to increase their ability to communicate in their everyday lives.

At the beginning of each semester, I spent the initial class times getting to know the students and asking what kinds of scenarios in their lives they most needed the ability to speak English. Some common situations they discussed with me were academic language pertaining to a school setting, cleaning terms, and grocery store vocabulary. After listening to their needs, I built my lesson plans surrounding those topics. The students gained conversational vocabulary that they could use in those everyday situations and I found my teaching to be more meaningful when I responded to their needs.

 

Leave a Reply

